remove facebook friends “X and Y are now friends on Facebook” – That’s the message displayed in your Facebook profile each time you add a new friend on Facebook or someone else confirms your pending request.

But the reverse is not true – you will never know when existing friends remove you from their Facebook friends list. The count of your friends will decrease but Facebook won’t reveal the name of the person who just unfriended you.

You can however play detective using a Facebook app called Unfriender – this will let you know when friends quietly remove as a connection on Facebook. They are extending the alerts to email and SMS as well.

The only downside is that Unfriender works only with friends that you have added after installing the Facebook application. Thanks Josh.

Update: The Unfriend app is now offline but see this new app to know when friends unfriend you on Facebook.

Related: Facebook Collage, Facebook Phone Book